Shawlette in Blue/Green

lette07fFor Mother’s Day this year for my mother-in-law we gave her a family photo sessions, which will take place this Friday, tomorrow actually.  I had figured out what I wanted to wear, that is cute, comfy and not warm, since it is going to be in the high 80s/90s or something crazy like that.  I couldn’t find a aqua/turquoise scarf that I really liked and that I was willing to spend any money on.  So what is a girl who can knit to do?  Well make one myself.

lette07gI visited Uncommon Threads on Tuesday and searched the shop for the perfect color in the perfect light weight yarn.  Well I came away with the right color, Nebula, and the yarn, Madelinetosh Tosh Vintage, but not the perfect weight, worsted.  I really wanted a lighter weight to make it light enough for summer wear.   But the color was so great and the shop lady also brought it to my attention that I had only a couple days to get it done.   There was no way I would get anything in fingering or sock done by Friday.

lette07hIt really did knit up pretty quick, I didn’t really follow a written pattern, created one on the fly.  I am in love with the color and I don’t think any of these photos does it justice, I can never tell with the variations in computer screens.  I made it through the first skein by Tuesday night and was ready to go Wednesday for the second half.  With worsted weight this shawlette is much faster than I thought.  I probably could have gone with a sock weight and would have finished in time, but at least now I don’t have to worry about it not being done.

lette07bI did an extra two rows between the last two yarn over rows, yeah yeah sometimes I forget to count until to late and don’t want to pull out.  In this case I probably should have.  I ran out of yarn 3/4 of the way through the cast off.  I am stubborn and didn’t pull in out I just continued to pass over the stitch to cast off without the knit first.  It worked fine and I don’t think anyone would really be able to tell.  And if they can oh well, it’s for me and I’m not telling anyone.  Well except for all of you, so shhhhhhh don’t tell anyone.

Here it is! I really do like how it falls and I think it will be perfect for the family photos.  I’m also going to wear a teal necklace underneath just in case I do get to hot and need to ditch it.  Either way it will be a good addition to my fall and winter collection.  I told that to my husband and he just rolled his eyes and walked away.  You can never have to many scarves, hats and gloves.

lette07e

2 thoughts on “Shawlette in Blue/Green

  1. Looks lovely. I always go towards those colours without realising.
    You can never have enough is true… I actually cant find my scarves at the moment, and its winter here. In my case, I really don’t have enough haha!
    I bet if I make one, they will appear!

Join the conversation

