Old Bedford Village and the Fall of the Needles

bedford06iI just want to clarify that it was not the needles fault for the break.  Yes they are knitpick needles and I haven’t had a problem with them breaking, well unless you count the time I stepped on one in the car and it snapped but that was a #3 and really that would have happened with any wooden needle and would have bent a metal one.  This weekend though it was a #4 and it went up against a folding chair and lost.  I had my work sitting on one of the wooden folding chairs that we take around to reenacting events with us, they are wobbly at best, I was up talking to someone and the chair was bumped.  It immediately collapsed smashing my work.  At a quick glance it all looked good, a little dusty but in one piece, until my husband said “I hope that didn’t break a needle”.  He jinxed it!  I took a closer look and yes one was snapped.  Crud!  Now what do I do…

Well if I had been prepared I would have had the bag full of yarn I bring to all events.  I have a hard time staying focused on just one project all weekend.  But alas we had forgotten it at home, sitting in the living room waiting to be loaded into the car.  There I was in a new town, with all my needles and no yarn, what is a girl to do?

bedford06aFind the local yarn shop and dig in.  My husband was busy preparing for battle so I along with some of the other women folk escaped back to the 21st century and found Firesong Studio.  I love this place, most of her shelves are filled with her own hand dyed skeins along with Alpaca from a local farm.  I picked out some of the alpaca and my friend picked up a skein of the hand dyed yarn for her first project.  She picked up knitting quickly and we will be moving on to her next lesson soon.  I kicked myself when I realized I arrived in the present without my phone so that I could snap a few photos of the place.  The second half of the shop is her weaving studio, I have it pinned for Christmas presents.  And she had a retired sheep dog that stole the attention of one of the members of the party, she almost got out the door with him.

bedford06fI was feeling a bit guilty for purchasing three skeins when in reality one would have gotten me through the weekend, but what if I wanted to start a large project for make a matching hat?  I really did need all three and to convince my hubby of that I was going to start on a pair of gloves for him.  As I was taking pictures I noticed that I really don’t like to wear shoes.  We are out camping and I am suppose to be in period correct 1860’s attire and I go around bare foot most of the time.  Oh well it is comfy and it helps me stay cool.

bedford06gI started on the gloves and thought I would try cables.  I stuck with metal one even though wood would have been more correct for the period.  And I also used circular needles so I can do two at a time, pretty sure they didn’t have those during the Civil War.  I got almost to the thumbs when the hubby got back from the battle and said they looked good but a little feminine for his taste.  So he gets the second pair because I am not ripping this out.  Look at all those cables, would you? I didn’t think so.

bedford06jThe accident happened Saturday morning before breakfast and I spent the rest of the weekend carrying the work around in my haversack, it is a very handy project bag.  Plus I can fit my wallet, water bottle and tissues in there, blasted allergies.  I wore the bag all over camp to be ready to knit at a moments notice.

Here are a couple shots from the weekend, some knitting and some of around camp.

 

bedford06h  bedford06c

bedford06l

bedford06m

2 thoughts on “Old Bedford Village and the Fall of the Needles

  1. sounds like a silver lining to the broken needle cloud, for sure! and FYI – I bet barefoot was more common than you think in 1860. Just depends where you were, right?

Join the conversation

