Log Cabin

Today I had a play date with my good friend Laura, I took my knitting over to her home and while I worked on my projects she finished up some bows for her shows coming up this weekend.  It was a day of crafting, the best play date of all.  We where trying to explain to her 4-year-old why I was at the house and not babysitting, play date is what she understood.  I forgot to get some shots of the bows she was working on but here is her site, Girly Twirls and Curls if you are interested, I love love her stuff!

cabin04dI have started a Log Cabin blanket, I’m not really following a pattern just adding stripes as I go.  I had played around with different color combinations and what order I was going to do them in, but it started to make my head hurt.  So now I am going to just rotate the 5 colors around and see what turns out.  This is going to be my new travel project for in the car or going to hang out since I don’t have to follow a pattern.  I am afraid that if I try and work on the Amy Pond scarf while acting as the navigator or chatting with friends that I will completely botch it up, it has happened in the past and I will not risk it again.

cabin04cI have tried and tried to find a photo of the back of one of these blankets so I can compare and see if mine is looking correct.  Not that it really matters but it will comfort me to know that I’m not screwing it up too much.  The front is looking pretty good and I am going to really try to keep the back clean and tidy.  I will do this by sewing in the end at regular intervals so I won’t have to do it all at the end. (fingers crossed)  The only thing that is bugging me about the back is that the edges are different where I pick up along the bind off edges and the garter edges, they aren’t the same!!! oh well I will survive and I bet who ever gets this won’t care even if they can tell.  I need to not sweat the small stuff, that is what I tell my students, I should probably listen to my own advice.

Projects for me are varied based on what I am doing along with it, I hope that makes sense.  Rarely am I just knitting, often I am talking, working, listening, navigating, educated, or reading, just to name a few.  Multitasking is a skill I have and luckily there are pattens that can accommodate all facets of my life.  It is interesting to look at what projects that I am working on at any given time and see how much free brain space I have to use on knitting.  I am going to need to keep an eye out for what other people are working on and how much brain power they are using to see if this theory can apply to others.

 

2 thoughts on “Log Cabin

  1. Yes, I agree with your observations. I often only knit alone in my bedroom late at night, because i need to concentrate. However, recently I have been making a sweater using the garter stitch. That I can do in the car, but I did find a mis-stitch , which I had not caught in time. At home I usually do catch mistakes.

Join the conversation

