Bunny Marathon

I am back in the land of the living.  Well almost completely,  still have a lovely hacking cough but I will spare you all the details.  It was a tough weekend, I wasn’t even in the mood for knitting, shocking I know! bunny03d Today was that turn where you feel better but sound worse, I’m going to venture out to work tomorrow.  But until then I’m finally back with my needles and have been busy.

I’ve worked up some pink bunny hats, they are just your basic roll brim beanies and then you can add the ears on.  I’ve even had a request for a fluffy bunny tail on one.  That is not going to become a regular thing, I avoid pom poms at all cost, so much “muppet vomit” as Zach calls it.  The pink is a lovely rose pink I think it is a Vanna or Micheal’s acrylic yarn that was in my stash, the label fell off ages ago so your guess is as good as mine.

bunny03aThe ears are knit both sides together so there is only one seam to sew up, and it is a short one.   I use the mattress stitch so the seam is invisible.  Oh that reminds me I do add an extra pink stitch so that the increase and decrease look even on both sides after the sewing up.  bunny03b

Tomorrow I will move on to a tan one to fill an order for a lovely lady getting ready for some Easter celebrations.  I made an adult size bunny beanie for my father-in-law last year, he wore it through out the day.  My nieces loved it!  I’m pretty sure that I have a photo of that floating around here somewhere, I will take a look and see what I can find.  If anything his wife should have one.  I love doing themed hats for holidays, I’m going to need to plan ahead better so that I can have one for each holiday coming up and next year.  I can do President’s Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, St. Paddy’s, Christmas, hummm what else is out there?

Here’s a shot of a finished one, I love that it is simple and instead of the kid wearing the bunny face the hat turns them into the bunny.

bunny14

Join the conversation

