Baby It’s Cold Out There

earwarmer01d

This photo was taken oh four inches ago.  It was a great day to stay inside and finish that never ending Doctor Who scarf as my husband helps neighbors dig their cars out.  I am now moving along to a wonderful project, 1950s style ear warmers!  A few weeks ago I received a call from a lovely woman who wanted to surprise her mother with new ear warmers since her last one was past the point of repair.

earwarmer01cearwarmer01b

Honestly I think this will be fun to do, she wanted a white one along with a brown and black.  Her only request is that they are washable, nothing fancy like wool and the same size.  I will be casting on here in a few minutes as soon as I figure out what pattern I am going to use.  From the looks of the original it was knit in a tube and then the ends sewn so that they curve down to the point.  I don’t know if I can do that without a serger but at the same time I don’t know if my skills of increasing in a ribbed pattern is up to par.

I think I will be doing is changing the pattern of the original and making it prettier with Portsmouth: a skating hat a Ravelry.com download from Julie Bierlein.  I think it stays with the style and period of the head gear but is knit flat and with a chunky yarn rather than a light weight, so it will go quick (Which I need mentally after length of the scarves).

earwarmer01a

My choice of yarn is going to be Caron Simply Soft, which can be found at most craft/fabric stores in your area.  It is a easy yarn to use and I will be able to double it up to get the chunky needed for the pattern.  It has been awhile since I’ve used this brand but from what I can remember it is alright.  What are your experiences with it?

2 thoughts on “Baby It’s Cold Out There

Join the conversation

